Tags

Do you want the recipe for the easiest bread ever? Are you sure you can handle it? If you screw this bread up you didn’t follow my directions specifically. A friend sent me a link to a recipe blog. I have tried to make bread before and failed miserably. It has been years since I even attempted to make it because why embarrass myself anymore? After viewing this recipe and also seeing my friend make beautiful bread I decided to give a whirl.

I have to admit, I’m pretty impressed with myself. Here is what you need.

3 Cups unbleached flour

1 3/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon of yeast

1 1/2 cups of water

I also use a little olive oil. I don’t measure it, I just pour a little into the dough.

Any sort of pot with a lid. I have a enamel cast iron Dutch Oven and it works beautifully. Per the website (which I will link at the end of the post) you can use clay pots, pizza stone with a lid over it, insert from crock pot. Basically anything with a lid! This is mine

IMG_2598

Directions

In a large mixing bowl combine flour, salt and yeast.

IMG_2583

Whisk together

IMG_2584

Add water and olive oil and mix

IMG_2585

It looks a little scary, right? Don’t worry, it is supposed to look like that. Loosely cover with plastic and leave to sit out for at least 12 hours. I let mine sit out for about 14 hours or so. In that 12-18 hours you leave it out it will rise. And look like this!

IMG_2594

Here is the fun part. Pre-heat your oven to 450 degrees. Once heated place the pot (empty) into the oven with the lid on and ‘bake’ for 30 minutes. While that is baking take the dough out of the bowl and place it on a highly floured area. Roll it into a round ball. Don’t play with it too much. I still haven’t quite mastered how to get that ball perfect but I’m learning. Let it sit out (plastic covering) while the pot heats in the oven.

IMG_2597

Once the 30 minute timer goes off take out of oven and very, very carefully place bread into the pot. Thanks to my friend she gave me a great idea to actually roll the dough onto parchment paper and then all you have to do is lift up the parchment paper and put it into the pan. Per the original recipe you don’t need parchment, you don’t need to grease the pan or anything. But I chose to do the paper because it would be easier and I wouldn’t burn myself (which I tend to do any time I am in the kitchen). The choice is entirely yours!

Once the bread is in the pot, put the lid back on and bake for 30 minutes. After 30 minutes remove the lid and you will cry from joy. I didn’t get a picture of it while it was still baking but lets just say it was beautiful. Golden and it rose beautifully. My girlfriend was behind me keeping the cat away from the oven and all I heard was “That looks amazing!” After you ooh and ah for a minute keep the lid off and continue baking for 15 minutes. Once the timer goes off, take out of oven and carefully take the bread out and let it cool on a rack. Once it is done, this is what it will look like:

IMG_2592

Isn’t that the most gorgeous thing you’ve ever seen? And it tastes wonderful! We waited almost 2 hours to slice into it and it was worth the wait! Last night we took it to Angie’s parents house where they were having a party and everyone really enjoyed it. One of her aunts even said it looked professionally made. After yesterday and how wonderful it turned out we decided we won’t be buying bread anymore, I’ll just bake it!

The best part about this recipe is mix it up! Add stuff to your bread. My friend added rosemary and garlic. Per the original blog you can add raisins, cranberries, lemon zest, cheese, herbs, anything you want! Play around with it.

Link to the original recipe:

Bread

Please like me on Facebook!

Trip with Brit

