Tags

, , , ,

On a serious whim I decided to go to Belgium in July. My mom is spending at least a month there and I thought it would be fun to see my family again and also travel around with my mom. My brother had the bright idea to take my mom to Italy for a few days. We’ve been trying to plan and sort out how we wanted to do this. We thought a train would be fun but that seemed to require a lot of planning and figuring out. We figured a plane would be the easiest thing to do but possibly a bit pricy since its already April. Yesterday I talked to my brother in the morning and he said last night he was sitting down with his wife to book hotels and flights and figure it all out. Well, he called me yesterday afternoon and it turns out we are driving. And on the way we are stopping in Switzerland! I know it isn’t much but I have always wanted to see Switzerland and see the Alps and now I am going to! We are trying to figure out where at in Switzerland we are going to stay. Bil wants to stay either in the Alps or somewhere with a view of the Alps but doesn’t want to drive too far. Judging by the comments I received on Trip Advisor and the research I did too we will probably have to do a 7 hour drive from Belgium. I think we should either stay in the Lucerne or Geneva area. Lucerne looks so beautiful so I am hoping I can convince them to do the 7 hour drive!

After our afternoon and night in Switzerland we are driving to Pisa, Italy. They found a cheap bed and breakfast with decent reviews, about a 30 minute walk to the Leaning Tower of Pisa. It has a kitchen which will help us. For all of us to stay there (4 adults, 1 child) it will cost us roughly 60/each for 3 nights. Once I stay there and the trip is over I will tell you the name, I don’t want to give anything away until I can give a full review. We’ll have the car so it’ll make going to other cities in Italy so much easier. I really want to take my mom to Volterra because she is a HUGE Twilight fan and I think Lavinia wants to go to Siena. I’m pretty open to anywhere in Tuscany as long as I can get some gorgeous pictures of the rolling hills. I’m going to take Angie’s camera and she is going to buy a better lens for it (a better zoom) and I think I am going to bring her Lensbaby. I have a few months to practice!

On the way home from Italy we are going to stop in France for an afternoon and night so we’ll be in another country! I have no idea where they want to stay there but I am hoping somewhere near Strasbourg but ultimately I will let Bill and Lavinia decide. I’ll be happy going anywhere in France. I was hoping I’d get away for a day or so and see Paris again but I think this is probably a better plan. I’m really looking forward to this trip. I think it will be a great experience to travel with my brother and his family and our mother. I may drive them crazy with my camera though. Is it bad that I can’t wait to do the totally typical picture of holding up the tower of Pisa? I’m going to get my little niece in on it too. My only regret about this entire trip is that Angie can’t come with us. She wouldn’t be able to get off work and she also doesn’t have the money. Although she is super excited to redo the bathroom while I’m gone! It was supposed to be a surprise but she’s not real great at keeping secrets. 🙂

Any readers with any advice on where to stay in Switzerland on our way to Italy or a nice town in France to stay on our way back to Brugge, Belgium? Leave it in the comments!

