Tags

, , ,

I’m an awful blogger. But it is a new year! 2014 will be the year of change. Out with the old and in with the new. 2013 was a good year, it was a fulfilling year and a year of major decisions. Lots of change already and it is only the 5th day. I got a new job! I’ve said this for about a year now but I’ll say it again: “Only until you work for the government do you realize why the government is so screwed up.” I’m happy to be leaving my job with a facet of the government. I will be going to a private hospital and my commute will be 10 minutes instead of the 35 minutes I now drive! What will I do with that extra hour every day? Maybe blog? Great idea.

I finished up my first semester of school. I finished up with 2 A’s and 1 B. After 12 years out of school I could not be more pleased with myself. Yes, I’ve patted myself on the back a few times. School starts up again on the 13th so I hope to keep the momentum going. School is honestly very easy for me. Maybe because my degree is a field I have worked in for years. But I found it laughably easy at times. Maybe I will continue to be lucky in that respect.

Another change we made for 2014 is our New Zealand trip. As in…we aren’t going to New Zealand (insert cries and wails here). It’s just too damn expensive for us at the moment. The flight alone will cost close to 2000 dollars. So we decided to be smart. And go back to Europe instead (insert squeals and laughter here). I LOVE Europe. I could live there (as most of you know). We are going back to Belgium to see family and see more of the country. I want to take Angie to Ghent, Bastogne and I’d like to finally see Brussels. We are going the first 2 weeks of October which should be good. Hopefully the weather will be nice. I looked at weather for this past October and it was really nice so maybe we will be lucky. We will be in Belgium for 9 days and then off to Amsterdam for 6! I love Amsterdam but I’ve only been one time and it was for maybe 10 hours. This time it will be for 6 full days! We are staying in a cute little rental apartment there, right on a canal (which isn’t so hard to come by in Amsterdam). The hotel in Belgium (Martin’s Bruge) and the apartment have already been booked thanks to generous amounts of Christmas money we received. I have a huge list of must-see’s in Amsterdam we have to attend to plus I want to see Haarlem, The Hague, Gouda, Delft, the list goes on! I also have a friend who lives about 30 minutes outside of Amsterdam so that will be nice to meet up with her as well. Its going to be an amazing vacation, I’m really looking forward to it. Any Netherlands recommendations for us novices? Must-see’s or must-avoid’s? Let me know in the comments!

Will write more soon. Right now we have a blizzard outside our doors and I’d like to sit in front of the window and watch the snow blow everywhere. Stay safe everyone!

