Tags

, , ,

Do you have a ‘go-to’ move when your wanderlust strikes? Do you have a certain film that satisfies your yearning for travel until you are able to go on a trip? The movies I tend to gravitate towards aren’t the best movies ever made but some of them just get me, you know?

Americano (2005)

Joshua Jackson, Leonor Varela, Timm Sharp, Ruthanna Hopper, Dennis Hopper

Chris McKinley, recent college graduate, is backpacking through Europe with 2 friends and is in Pamplona, Spain for the Running of the Bulls. There he meets Adela in his last few days of ‘freedom’ before he starts his career. In the film he participates in the bull run, sees a bullfight, has his backpack stolen, and deals with an interesting (to say the least) owner of a bar, played by Dennis Hopper. He has has to deal with his friends, Ryan and Michelle, a couple that are at the end of their relationship. He falls for Adela, in between calling the US and receiving voice mails about his new 9-5 job. *Spoilers* In the end he leaves Adela and his friends go back to the US. You don’t see Chris going home, you see him walking, in an ambiguous ending that leaves you wondering, did he go back to Adela or did he go home to start a career, a job that he didn’t seem to be that excited about? I like to think that he went back to Adela and and said screw the man! The movie inspires me. My favorite line is “Promise me…Do what scares you.” Really, do what scares you. Because even if it scares you…no, terrifies you, it is more than likely exactly what you want. But do you have the courage to do so? I hope Chris had the courage to do what terrified him and staying in Spain with Adela was what scared him.

The soundtrack is great too. So fun and upbeat, my favorite track is “Si, Si, No, No” by Maria Conchita Alsonso. The part of the movie that song is played is, ahem, pretty damn sexy as well. You won’t soon forget that song or that scene! Besides the obvious reasons why I love the movie the scenery is stunning! It was filmed in Pamplona during the actual Running of the Bulls and then in the Spanish countryside. Spain is such a gorgeous country and every time I watch this movie I am inspired to go and enjoy that same scenery. The only issue I have with Spain is that I want to see all of it and it will be hard to narrow it down in a 2 week vacation! Before seeing Americano I never had a desire or yearning to see Spain. I figured I’d go eventually but it wasn’t at the top of my list. It is right now, in this moment, my number 1 spot to see after our Belgium and Netherlands trip this year.  I am inspired to know more about Spain, to understand the history and customs. When I think about Spain it makes me feel like I could be going ‘home’. That may sound crazy to some of you but I don’t care. Everyone is a little crazy, right?

“The story of our life, in the end, is not our life, it is our story.”

